NHS Orkney


NHS Orkney Structure

NHS Orkney consists of nine Non-Executive members and five Executive members.

The Non-Executive members are lay-people who are invited to sit on the Board. These people generally have other jobs but they receive some remuneration for activities involving their Health Board duties.

The Executive Members are all senior managers and therefore employees of NHS Orkney.

You can contact any member of the Board by writing or telephoning. Contact details are at the bottom of the page.

Management Structure

The overall management of the Board's affairs is conducted through the Chief Executive, Cathie Cowan, supported by the following senior officers, detailed below: 

Director of Finance Gerry O'Brien
Director of Public Health Dr Louise Wilson
Medical Director Marthinus Roos
Director of Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professions Elaine Peace
Head of Human Resources Services Julie Nicol

 Non-Executive Board Members


David Drever John Ross Scott NHS Orkney Chair

Naomi Bremner 




Jeremy Richardson Rognvald Johnson Gillian Skuse  


Councillor Stephen Hagan Vicky Anderson - Employee Director Andy Trevett - Area Clinical Forum Chair


Executive Board Members:



 Cathie Cowan -Chief Executive

Gerry O'Brien - Director of Finance  / Deputy Chief Executive

Elaine Peace - Director of Nursing, Midwifery and AHP 

Louise Wilson - Director of Public Health 

 Marthinus Roos - Medical Director 


Contact Details

NHS Orkney
Board Headquarters, Garden House
New Scapa Road
KW15 1BQ

Tel.: 01856 888000

Register of Interests



Board Member Expenses